Courageous Women 18: Beauty in the midst of Brokenness

Joes's gift to me

My sister picked up the off-cut of greenstone and held it in her hands. She admired the way that it curled inwards and upwards, and even though its shape meant it was not smooth or symmetrical, she remarked that it was beautiful. She went on to say that there was “beauty in its brokenness.”

beauty in brokenness 1

That got me thinking.

I truly believe that there is incredible beauty in brokenness.

I think that it is that point of brokenness, where the façade breaks down and you are completely real with those close to you that is truly beautiful. That letting of the walls down. That sharing of the deepest, darkest corner of your soul. This is what makes us human.

change n the fall

None of us walk through life with a continuous stream of roses. I wish we did. But the truth of it is that there are many mountains to climb, and just as many valleys.

Life requires all of our strength and will power just to get through the day. Sometimes just to get through a single moment of the day.

Bottling things up inside and putting on a fake smile and saying “I’m fine” whenever people ask how you are will only work up to a point.

You will break eventually.

The problem with not letting people in is that when you do break, you will inevitably be alone. Crying in a darkened room, all by yourself.

silent tears

And this is the worst situation. All alone, listening to your own, negative voice like a song stuck on repeat, with no way out in sight. It is no wonder that before you know it, you are stuck into a downward spiral that you have been down too many times…

downward spiral

 Yet…

What would happen if we looked on brokenness with new eyes?

What if we took it as a sign of endurance and bravery?

For that is what it represents. Someone who has taken life’s blows with open arms and instead of running the other way, has embraced them. The outward scars, the jagged lines represents wars waged and won, blows taken and deflected, pain endured and overcome…

shattered by beauty

When I see people on the other side of a trial – when I hear their story and see how far they come, my heart quickens within me.

I see the person with new eyes. I have new appreciation for what they bring to this world, knowing what they have already walked through.

I see them as this bright, shining star. Shining clearly for all those of us who are still stuck in the valley and need to know that there is an end.

light in brokenness

That we can endure and though we might be a bit broken, a bit less symmetrical, a bit less clean and tidy, we are beautiful!

brokenness

 I am broken too, but I am starting to own this – I cannot change the past, but I can change the future! The main thing is to accept my many flaws, and to give myself credit for putting one foot in front of the other when it would be much easier to crawl into my hole and give up.

I believe this with all of my heart:

beautifully broken

Much love, Christy xx

About christysarah99

This blog is for all the Courageous Women out there who have stood up to their man and ended the cycle of abuse for them, their children & their families. I separated from my husband in January 2014 due to his emotional abuse and violent behaviour. I believe strongly that NO WOMAN should stay in an abusive relationship.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

